Thomas Jordan Gallery Sports Art   Thomas Jordan Gallery
Sports Paintings
  & Entertainment Art

on the easel gallery sports painting

On The Easel Gallery progression paintings show multiple images of the artists process from beginning sketch work to the finished oil on canvas composition.

Completed Painting -- Thomas Jordan Gallery -- The Masters Tribute
The Masters Tribute -- Painting Progression -- Use controls to view all images.

Tom has completed work on another long awaited Tribute painting, The Masters Tribute. The Masters Tournament is one of the four major championships in professional golf and the first major of the year, always held at the same location, Augusta National Golf Club. The Masters was started by amateur champion Bobby Jones and investment banker Clifford Roberts. First played 86 years ago in 1934, the tournament is an official money event on the PGA Tour, the European Tour, and the Japan Golf Tour. The field of players is smaller than those of the other major championships because it is an invitational event, held by the Augusta National Golf Club. The tournament has a number of traditions. Since 1949, a green jacket has been awarded to the champion. Jack Nicklaus has the most Masters wins, with six. Tiger Woods has won five. Arnold Palmer has won four. Five have won three titles at Augusta: Jimmy Demaret, Sam Snead, Gary Player, Nick Faldo, and Phil Mickelson. Player, from South Africa, was the first non-American player to win the tournament, in 1961; the second was Seve Ballesteros of Spain, the champion in 1980 and 1983.

Select to view most current image large scale on mobile devices: image

Thomas Jordan Gallery -- The Masters Tribute

The Background -- The iconic 12th hole at Augusta, The Masters Leader Board, The 18th hole at Augusta
Row 1 (back row) -- Arnold Palmer receiving his jacket from Jack Nicklaus, Celebrating Arnold Palmer's Championship wins in 1958, 1960, 1962, and 1964, Celebrating Jack Nicklaus' Championship wins in 1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975, 1986, Celebrating Tiger Woods' Championship wins in 2001, 2002, 2005, 2009, 2019
Row 2 -- Sam Snead wins in 1949, 1952, 1954, Ben Chrenshaw wins 1984, 1995, Ben Hogan wins in 1951, 1953, Jack Nicklaus receiving his jacket from Bernhard Langer, Jimmy Demaret wins in 1940, 1947, 1950, Byron Nelson wins 1937, 1942, Horton Smith wins 1934, 1936
Row 3 (front row) -- Bernhard Langer wins 1985, 1993, Tom Watson wins 1977, 1981, Nick Faldo wins in 1989, 1990, 1996, Bubba Watson wins in 2012, 2014, Map of Augusta National Golf Club, Gary Player wins in 1961, 1964, 1978, Jose Maria Olazabal mins in 1994, 1999, Seve Ballesteros wins in 1980, 1983, Phil Mickelson wins in 2004, 2006, 2010